Ajpelfrey’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My thoughts on Distance Education August 26, 2008

Filed under: Distance Education — ajpelfrey @ 11:50 pm

I, like many of you, had always considered distance learning as internet classes or other environments that don’t allow you to be in the same room with your classmates or instructor. I thought of distance as physically being far away from something. I am beginning to see and understand that disctance learning doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with location.

Today someone asked me about the classes I am enrolled in this semester. So I went through the whole explanation. When I tried to explain to them that I was taking a distance learning course on distance learning, things became clearer to me and much LESS clear to them. Having my original frame of mind of distance learning, I can understand the confusion in my explanation. Now I see distance education as the gap between what I want my student to understand and what they actually understand. I thought that technology was the main ingredient in distance education. But now I realize it is just a really useful tool that helps us to bridge the gap.

 

3 Responses to “My thoughts on Distance Education”

  1. MsuJC Says:

    I too always thought of Internet courses as distance education. However, when reading and discussing some of the other thoughts on it, I can see where all education could be considered distance education. I do think however if all education is distance than universities should be the first to start making changes in their catalogs and programs to reflect the new thinking.

  2. Diana Jackson Says:

    Interesting point Ashley. I had never looked at distance learning from that aspect. I see how DL could be the gap between what I want students to learn verses what they actually learn, but I don’t see how that is the “distance learning”. Are you refering to learning from a distance in terms of congitive abilities or student in terms of limitations to technology (if that makes sense)? Feel free to IM me if you don’t understand my questioning.

  3. Jacqulyn Eldridge Parsons Says:

    I agree. At first I was only considering the distance thing when trying to define distance learning and distance education. After reading others post and thinking about what has been said, I am starting to realize it is more than just distance it is like you said the way we bridge the gaps of education.


Leave a comment